Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationRepackboxLoad DataSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters Supply Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Type of File for Thinning Rim Diameter

Boolit Buddy

Type of File for Thinning Rim Diameter

Hi,

I do not have a lathe and need to thin some rim diameters (30-30 -> 225 Win). I’m a metal working noob, but I have a proper, variable speed drill press. I’ve read people chuck the case in a press and use a file.

What kind of metal file would I use? I thought it would be a single cut, but then I read a double cut is better for brass. Then I read about “mill files” for use on a lathe. But that seems like over kill.

I’m trying not to go from rimmed, to rebated rim, in .00002 seconds. LOL.

Any thoughts from experienced people would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Boolit Grand Master
    I don't know which type of file would be best for brass. Seems like I used a 10" Mill Bastard file when I was converting brass, but that has been a few decades ago.

One word of warning: Handles. Using a file on something turning under power is the one place I insist on having a handle on a file. I have heard or read too many stories of the file getting thrown back at the operator to want to chance it. A file tang at speed could produce a horrible wound.

Oh and don't wear loose clothing or jewelry.

Robert

Quote Originally Posted by Mk42gunner View Post
    I don't know which type of file would be best for brass. Seems like I used a 10" Mill Bastard file when I was converting brass, but that has been a few decades ago.

One word of warning: Handles. Using a file on something turning under power is the one place I insist on having a handle on a file. I have heard or read too many stories of the file getting thrown back at the operator to want to chance it. A file tang at speed could produce a horrible wound.

Oh and don't wear loose clothing or jewelry.

Robert
    ^^^^ this ^^^^