RotoMetals2Snyders JerkyLoad DataWideners
Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionRepackboxReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 50-70 Info?

Boolit Mold

50-70 Info?

Hi All. I’m new to BPCR and in fact just picked up my first rifle at auction. It was listed as a “European 50-70” without any other info. I’d appreciate any info (manufacturer, age etc.) that anyone can provide. I haven’t slugged the barrel but calipers show approx 12mm lands and 13mm grooves. The tang markings are difficult to make out in the photo but appear to read “Remington Ilion NY USA, PAT May __ Nov 15th 1864 April 17th 1866”.

It was suggested on FB that it may be a Swedish 12.7x44R. If that’s the case I have questions about the possibility of using 50-70 brass and bullets. As far as I can tell, it chambers and ejects 50-70 brass appropriately. The close up of the closed action is with a casing inside. As I mentioned, I know very little about BPCR so I very much any help!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	968771C5-1842-4699-95D3-75A4AD293A8F.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	44.5 KB 
ID:	287056Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E626028A-FF33-45CE-BE57-D3D8F76A2299.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	31.5 KB 
ID:	287057Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9AE729C3-80AE-4861-826F-52318403FB89.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	34.4 KB 
ID:	287058Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6142BC77-F6E7-4626-B1EC-D1981B0A3BE2.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	23.5 KB 
ID:	287059Click image for larger version. 

Name:	B9FFFBFC-5948-4923-9AE4-E3F792BEE91E.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	25.6 KB 
ID:	287060

It's a Remington Rolling Block, but beyond that, I really have no info.
    Someone here for sure will. It maybe that you need to do a chamber cast to see exactly what it is. I like what I'm seeing though! Looks good!

Boolit Master
    You can read a lot about the Swedish Rolling Block here: https://castboolits.gunloads.com/arc...p/t-53819.html