Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLee Precision
Titan ReloadingReloading EverythingRotoMetals2Inline Fabrication
Wideners

Thread: 480 Ruger - lighter bullets and reduced loads

Boolit Bub

480 Ruger - lighter bullets and reduced loads

Hi Fellas, any good lighter bullets or hollowpoint molds suggested for this calibre? Most the data out there is pretty heavy. Im looking for something more along the lines of using it like a scaled up 44 special or 45 colt. Say 800-900fps with 250-300 grain bullets.

Also as I am only a beginner caster is there a big step in technicality to casting hollowpoints. Will probably draw some laughter but I was even thinking of drilling holes in normal bullets This is a fun project, not too serious, but still keen to see it through.
    Last edited by stef76; 07-31-2021 at 03:52 AM.

Boolit Master
    No help on the lighter boolit side except look at Accurate Molds or NOE Molds. Tom at Accurate can make just about whatever you want with a flat nose, NOE can do hollow point molds. Hollow point molds just take a little more attention to keeping the HP pins hot. Some people here use a Forster tool to drill HPs into their boolits, it can be done.

Boolit Grand Master

I'm not aware of a bullet in that weight range. That's getting to be very stubby. You might be able to find a hollow point that gets you in to the upper 200's though. My first instinct is to try standard .490" round balls in it at your stated velocity. If they chamber, they would probably shoot decent.

Boolit Bub
    Thanks Fellas, Sigep 1764 whats the forster tool? I might try drilling some bought bullets then.

Boolit Bub
    Quote Originally Posted by megasupermagnum View Post