RotoMetals2Load DataLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxTitan Reloading
Reloading Everything

Thread: Filament Breaking

Boolit Grand Master

Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska

Filament Breaking

I’m new to 3D printing and am on my first role of filament that came with my printer. I’ve been running into problems with the filament breaking while printing. Or at least I think so. It could be the spool is made up of pieces of filament. I don’t want to unroll it to find out.

It will be printing fine and I’ll start working on something else. When I check, the build up has stopped and the filament is broken, with a small piece hanging off the spool. The spool seems to rotate easily and it worked for several hour or so projects before. Now this has happened three times in a row. Any ideas?

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by GregLaROCHE View Post
    I’m new to 3D printing and am on my first role of filament that came with my printer. I’ve been running into problems with the filament breaking while printing. Or at least I think so. It could be the spool is made up of pieces of filament. I don’t want to unroll it to find out.

It will be printing fine and I’ll start working on something else. When I check, the build up has stopped and the filament is broken, with a small piece hanging off the spool. The spool seems to rotate easily and it worked for several hour or so projects before. Now this has happened three times in a row. Any ideas?
    It could be absorbing moisture from the air. If so, you would need an "oven" to dry the filament. Insulated box with a heat source that is controllable, or a food dehydrator, or similar. https://3dprintbeginner.com/how-to-d...d_snaps_easily

Bill

Boolit Grand Master

Quote Originally Posted by Scrounge View Post