RotoMetals2Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline FabricationReloading EverythingLoad DataWideners
Repackbox

Thread: BHN for rifle bullets

Boolit Master

BHN for rifle bullets

I have searched and searched and read the books recommended for casting but they all are geared towards pistol. I need to try to find out what the recommended BHN is for rifle bullets. My specific bullets are .30 cal. 115 gr. up to 200.gr for the 30-30 and the 30-06 Springfield 93A3 and Garand. I have dead soft lead and I have linotype although my testing on the linotype does not come back to 22 BHN as I see stated in many places, I am getting around 18 BHN and these were factory linotype pigs. I used to work in the printing industry and ran a linotype machine occasionally so I am well aware of what they are. No matter, I am looking for what I should aim for in my alloy, if I need to buy super hard from Rotometals I will and mix it in. I want to get all the lead I have consolidated down to two batches, one for pistol and one for rifle. So any help or references to printed matter would be greatly appreciated.

Rick

Vendor Sponsor

There is a big window of hardness that will work for you depending on what you are doing. Velocity with gas checks up to the high teens is easy. Faster than that you may need to work on the details.
    For velocity in the teens, assuming normal good chamber and bore numbers, 10 to 18 BHN can be made to work for most loads. Bullet design will play a large part so maters a lot too in the final outcome.

IF you are looking for one true hardness number in all cases, it does not exist.
    Chill Wills

Boolit Master