Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Reloading EverythingLoad DataRepackboxWideners
RotoMetals2

Thread: Is this a babbitt bearing?

Boolit Master

Is this a babbitt bearing?

That is an 11 pound block of something a guy is selling as lead. Although I have no hands-on experience with babbitt bearings, I suspect that is a babbitt bearing that was cut/split off a shaft of some type. Roto-Metals is selling various babbitt grades for $27 a pound and from what I have read, adding a bit of babbitt to a coww alloy can make for some seriously hard bullets. I don't currently have the need, but would snag it for the right price assuming it could have future use/value and is in fact babbitt.

Any babbitt bearing experts out there have an opinion?
    “Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem.” Ronald Reagan

Boolit Master
    That's a complete maybe. All the Babbitt bearings I worked with were in old engines. I can't tell much froma picture.

Sorry not much help.

Boolit Master
    It doesn't look like a bearing to me, because it is so large to have been on a shaft. Babbit was expensive then, as it is now days. I think I would only offer him lead price, and hope its got some tin in it.