RotoMetals2RepackboxInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Snyders JerkyLoad DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
Wideners Reloading Everything

Thread: Cast bullets "spark" more?

Question Cast bullets "spark" more?

Ever since I started shooting cast bullets, I've noticed that I peripherally see "sparks" falling out of my gun when I shoot, instead of a clean ball of fire. I just wanted to pick you guys' brains as to why this is? Is it possible that it is my bullet lube burning? Or since they are lower-powered loads it's burning powder?

My gun isn't fouling much at all. Rounds in questions are cast .358 RN and FWC.

I'm just curious if this behavior is typical for cast bullets.

Boolit Master

more info :
    gun
    barrel length
    powder
    primers

i`ll bet it`s the powder though.

GP100man

Quote Originally Posted by GP100man View Post
    more info :
    gun
    barrel length
    powder
    primers

i`ll bet it`s the powder though.

GP100man
    S&W Model 686 - 4" Barrel. Unique. Charge: 3.5gr pushing 160gr DEWC and 160gr LRN. Primers are CCI Sm. Pistol

Banned

i am thinking lead particles coming from the gap between the cylinder and throat of your bbl.

Boolit Grand Master

I'm saying inconsistent ignition and he's seeing still burning powder. That is a very low pressure load, the lowest pressured "starting load" in Lyman's manual for a 160 gr cast bullet. Unique needs a certain pressure level to burn efficiently and I don't think he's got it. I'd suggest he change to 3.5 gr Bullseye.

Larry Gibson

Boolit Grand Master
    As stated above, a faster powder will help.

I still get the odd spark or two from the 1911 using Alliant Bullseye. There is the small amount of charred residue on the range table from when I pick up the fired brass, but no unburnt kernels. The charred residue powders like ash when rubbed between your fingers.

Shiloh

Smile