WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Titan ReloadingLoad DataReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips on using Lyman all American turret press

Boolit Master

Tips on using Lyman all American turret press

Hello all,
    I recently purchased a Lyman all American 4-hole turret press. I have noticed the turret does not lock into position. I'm thinking about using it as a dedicated 45 ACP press which is a good thing as it came with the #2 shellholder, a design specific to this press.
    Does anyone have any experience with this press that can lend some operation tips?
    Thanks,
    Rick

Banned

Mine locks into position!

Banned

I’ve been using mine for 50 years!

Boolit Buddy
    It should index at each station. If memory is correct there is a ball bearing under the turret above the small support ring.

Be careful if you have a decapping die in the rear most position. When you raise the ram it gets very close to that die. A long decapping pin can make contact.
    I am still using mine bought around 1970.

There is a shell holder adapter so you can use "standard " shell holders.

Boolit Grand Master

CH4D had a shell holder adapter for the wooden handled A-A I picked up at a Flea-Market in dire need of some TLC ... early 70's it looks to be .
    The turret moves into each position and holds firmly until I move it to the next station .
    Maybe yours is worn if it wont stay in place during operation like sizing .
    I have it set up for a dedicated 357 Magnum loader right now , leaving the dies set up and adjusted .
    I use it like a single stage ... sizing a batch of 50 or 100 ... then moving to the next station ...etc.
    CH4D had a replacement priming arm / cup / spring so I could prime on the press .
    I like it ... but I also pick up stray kittens and lost puppies and bring them home too !
    Gary
    Certified Cajun
    Proud Member of The Basket of Deplorables