Load DataInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
WidenersTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Repackbox
Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 28 gauge shotgun

Banned

28 gauge shotgun

Went to the gun show in Wichita this morning. Always wanted a muzzle loading shotgun and walked out with a very dainty, nice little 28 gauge side lock percussion single barrel. This looks like it is gonna be a LOT of fun in the squirrel woods next Fall.

I have ZERO experience loading black powder shotguns and am open to any and all information from you guy's experiences, please.

Boolit Grand Master
    Have you read the sticky?

I don't have much experience with a smoothbore, I only got to play with a 20 gauge trade gun one afternoon mainly with patched rb. I'd like to find one of the TC .56 cal smooth bore barrels for my New Englander, maybe one day.

Robert

Banned

OK, read it. Seems straight forward enough. Will these wads work for what he's talking about? https://www.trackofthewolf.com/List/.../1/OX-WAD-54-W

I think I'd rather just buy them than try to punch them out, but if I did punch them out, would a 5/8" punch from Harbor Freight work to do it?

Boolit Master

Boolit Master
    Look at this page

https://www.trackofthewolf.com/List/Item.aspx/170/1

Sorry they don't have 28ga info. I run 20ga components in my 24ga smokeless double.

Boolit Master
    I've been loading 2 drams of 2 FG and 3/4 ounce of shot, a 20 gauge load, in my 28 bore fowler. Good tight fitting card wads and cushion wads will help with the pattern. Circle Fly makes wads for just about every bore size there is. Many of the muzzle loading shops carry their wads.
    BIG OR SMALL I LIKE THEM ALL, 577 TO 22 HORNET.

Boolit Grand Master
    Those wads you show would probably be okay.

5/8" = .625" so I think it would be too large, but a 9/16" might be close enough.