MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersRotoMetals2Load Data
RepackboxTitan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading Everything
Lee Precision

Thread: Learned something today...

Boolit Bub

Learned something today...

I am new to mixing lead alloy. In the past I poured fishing jigs, sinkers and the odd pure lead balls for BP shooting.

Today I dove into the deep end and decided to fire up the Lee Pro 4-20 to mix up some #2 alloy.

I had enough material to do 20 pounds, so I doubled the 10 pound recipe from the Lyman cast bullet manual. And that’s when I had my epiphany... apparently 20 pounds of #2 isn’t the same volume as 20 pounds of pure lead...

I had put all my lead in first and then started to add the Linotype and tin only to discover I couldn’t fit all the Lino and tin in the pot. So I spent the next few hours pouring Lee .5 and 1 pound mini ingots, rebel ting the first and last several ingots to balance the mix, and repeating several time to make sure the mix is even for future pouring.

Beside the valuable lesson of sticking to 10 pound batches of fresh alloy... I got lots of practice dialing in the temperature for the alloy and pouring nice, neat ingots.
    73’s DE
    Matthew

“Those who give up essential liberties for temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” – Benjamin Franklin

Boolit Master
    It's been discussed before but the Lee 4-20 won't hold 20 lbs when it's on. It's like a 400 cubic inch engine, you are lucky if it's really 390.
    Mal

Mal Paso means Bad Pass, just so you know.

Boolit Bub

I got that real quick... but I had also just broke down a bunch of pure lead into the same smaller ingots. It seems that it held noticeably more lead than alloy.

It’s got me thinking that it would be interesting to do a water displacement test to see if there is any difference in the volume of 20 pounds of each material.

Quote Originally Posted by Mal Paso View Post