RotoMetals2WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLoad DataRepackbox
Snyders Jerky Inline Fabrication

Thread: black walnut

Boolit Master

black walnut

any suggestions on how to properly dry out black walnut trees so the wood will be useful.
    ive got a few standing dead and a whole bunch of big trees still growing strong.
    I cut a couple of the standing dead down and some was cut into firewood length and put in woodshed, some has cracking now after a year but some of em are solid through and through. its my hit and miss drying method

It’s best to seal the ends to stop checking. It should be stacked so that air flows around all sides. A moisture meter is definitely a valuable tool.

I am far from an expert but a couple things I have heard from people in the business is when you fall one, leave the stump high enough to make stocks. Then dig around the base and try to cut roots off below grade. The nicest figure is about ground level and many are too short to make rifle stocks. Use similar thinking at crotch wood to incorporate the figure into the right part of the stock. When the blanks are sawed out, the end grain is coated with paraffin or thick varnish to prevent the moisture from going out the end grain. They take much longer (years) to dry but have little or no cracking. There was a gunwood dealer in Missouri, Robert somebody, if I can find his phone number I will let you know.

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by farmbif View Post
    any suggestions on how to properly dry out black walnut trees so the wood will be useful.
    ive got a few standing dead and a whole bunch of big trees still growing strong.
    I cut a couple of the standing dead down and some was cut into firewood length and put in woodshed, some has cracking now after a year but some of em are solid through and through. its my hit and miss drying method