MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationWidenersReloading Everything
RepackboxSnyders JerkyTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Load Data Lee Precision
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First PPB shooting

First PPB shooting

Hi all, this is my first attempt shooting PP bullets at 200 meters, 75gn swiss nr.4, no droptube, no compression, dry wrapping with Onion Skin paper. The bullet is a double diameter from a project by Arnie Seitz, it's a Lyman #2 alloy, the rifle is a Pedersoli Sharps "Q". The weather was windy with strong gust winds. The next time I'll try using a slightly thicker paper, just to chamber the cartridge with more pressure. Any suggestion is welcome.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2021-03-05 at 21.01.07 (2).jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	27.4 KB 
ID:	279489

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2021-03-12 at 14.49.26.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	36.9 KB 
ID:	279487

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2021-03-10 at 18.46.52.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	38.5 KB 
ID:	279488

Boolit Master
    Maybe a different alloy? I never ventured far away from the binary alloys and personally see no need to. For my PP bullets I stay at 16/1 with a little testing with an alloy that had to contain some antimony. That particular alloy couldn't have had much antimony, but it was off in weight by a small amount and was colored differently. I don't remember there being any issues with accuracy but I remelted them as to not have something "different" sitting around. They made fine revolver bullets.

Boolit Man
    Interesting bullet. What is the measurement of the base diameter?
    Did you fire those ten shots as one group or were you making sight changes as you shot? The affects of the wind are obvious.
    I’ve also just started paper patching. I’m enjoying it immensely.
    JKR

Quote Originally Posted by JKR View Post
    Interesting bullet. What is the measurement of the base diameter?