Inline FabricationRepackboxReloading EverythingWideners
Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Titan Reloading
Snyders Jerky Load Data
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: If you started over today...

Boolit Man

If you started over today...

If your entire casting operation were to vanish today, what would you restart with? Is there a tool that’s worth trying but you won’t because you already have something else, or something you would avoid? Molds, pots, ladles, lubes... Dedicated sizing press?

I’m new to this... or rather I will be new to this soon. I have not bought a thing yet. I’m of the variety of folks who go with what is reasonably priced but will pay a premium for a really good product, so help me spend my money wisely. I will start small and build up slowly but surely. Is there a kit worth considering or are the kits like reloading kits that you get 1 good item and a bunch of mess that just kinda works ok. Separate pots for casting and cleaning for ingots? Y’all tell me, what’s your new setup so that I can figure out what to buy.

Boolit Master
    I never buy kits. Just buy what you need to get started like Lee 20# bottom pour pot and 4-6 cavity mould then go from there.
    Welcome to the madness.

I’d still buy the Lee 4-20 bottom pour, I’d go straight to MP molds over the rest.

Yes, definitely process your lead in a pot other than your casting furnace. I use a $20 cast iron pot and a cheap fish fryer to melt wheel weights. For molds I would suggest trying out a Lee 2 cavity mold to get you rolling. They cast quality bullets and are around $23 handles included. As for sizing, NOE and Lee make very inexpensive sizers that will also seat gas checks. Like already mentioned, the Lee 4-20 pot is hard to beat. Also get a Lyman 4th edition cast bullet handbook.

Boolit Master

I should have bought a hot plate sooner, and should have used a large tin can to make a little mold oven on the hot plate right after I bought it.