WidenersRepackboxInline FabricationLoad Data
MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
Lee Precision
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Hunting Load: 45-70 405 gr cast @ 1300 fps --->European smokeless Powder?

Boolit Mold

Hunting Load: 45-70 405 gr cast @ 1300 fps --->European smokeless Powder?

Hey to everybody,

my name is Stefan and I am from Blackforest, Germany.
    I'm new to bullet casting and plan to buy a stainless Marlin Levergun in 45-70 for hunting with cast boolits.

Why hunting with cast boolits? Because I want to!
    Here in Europe or in Germany it's not as easy as in the USA to get all the reloading stuff you need. Sometimes you have to wait weeks or months until the next ship brings the bullets you want. With powder it is extremly different. Sometimes you get what you need, other times you have to wait half a year for your powder. An even then, you dont know if it really comes with the next container.

Because of this I decided to cast my own bullets and load them with european smokeless powder. That makes me independent in some way.
    My game are roe deer (20 to 40 pounds) and wildboar (20 to 200 pounds).
    My bullet of choice will be something like the Accurate Mold 46-405V Click image for larger version. 

Name:	46-405V.jpg 
Views:	117 
Size:	15.2 KB 
ID:	254692
    I've read a lot of boolit performance with big meplat bullets in the internet and believe, that this boolit should work quite fine, without much meat damage. I hunt for meat!

I did a lot of research on wound ballistics and believe, that a 405 gr WFN boolit driven a something around 1300 fps should work for me. My shooting distances are from 30 to 130 yards, most of the time around 70 yards. I'am a woods hunter.

Now the problems: