Inline FabricationSnyders JerkyRepackboxMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan ReloadingReloading EverythingLoad DataRotoMetals2
Wideners Lee Precision

Thread: 38 special and power pistol

Boolit Mold

38 special and power pistol

I have a k-38 masterpiece 6 inch. Loaded 162 grain semi-wadcutter with 5.4 grains powerpistol. Velocity is 970 fps and is very accurate. Alliant says this load is fine for standard 38,s. Any thoughts?

Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forum.

please define "fine"
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

Boolit Master
    Welcome to CB.GL Forum!

I am pretty sure, looking at the Alliant Power pistol load data they supply, that you are possibly in P+ load range. While I did not see your 162gr. weight boolit listed, the closest being a 158gr., the listed loads suggested MAX for that 158gr. was 5.4gr. in a 6 inch bbl. for 38 Special "standard".
    The data for a 158gr in the 38 P+ data was a suggested MAX of 6.0 gr..

Sources: 38 Special P+ = http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloade...8&cartridge=27

38 Special "Std." = http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloade...8&cartridge=26

Since powder weight(charges) usually increases as the boolit/bullet weight gets lighter, then the opposite that powder weight(charges) would decrease with heavier boolits/bullets.

If the MAX suggested charge for a lighter boolit(158gr.) is 5.4gr. in "standard" 38 Special, then the suggested MAX charge weight for a 162gr. should be/likely is, less than that 5.4 grains for a "standard" 38 Special.
    Thus, likely putting the charge you mentioned in the OP, into a P+ range.

If your handgun is rated for P+ charges , then you should likely be OK. If it is not, then you are likely going over Alliants suggested MAX for a "standard" 38 Special using that charge & that weight of boolit. It is YOUR decision to exceed the suggested MAX loads or not.