RepackboxLoad DataSnyders JerkyLee Precision
Inline FabricationRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan Reloading
Wideners Reloading Everything

Thread: ok i am still learning

Boolit Master at Heaven's Range, 2009

Question ok i am still learning

where does lead come from or how is it made?

chewie

In Remembrance
    Jackson County, Choctaw Nation, Indian Territory
    Several sources for lead.

Galena is lead bearing ore. Galena is a square to rectangular shaped crystal.

Lead is a by-product of silver mining/refining.

It is also a by/co-product of zinc mining/refining.

Also, it is depleted Uranium, 0% radioactivity left.
    Those who fail to study history are doomed to repeat it.

“A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity”. Sigmund
    Freud

Boolit Master

Now, thanks to the tree huggers, most lead is from recycled sources and I imagine very little is mined anymore but it's out there. Illinois as well as I recall has huge deposits.

No matter what the EPA does, lead will be around for all of our lifetime. Us casters just have to get innovative about reclaiming it before the recyclers get to it./beagle
    diplomacy is being able to say, "nice doggie" until you find a big rock.....

Banned

that's easy, lead comes from the tire shop...

Boolit Grand Master

I thought they extracted it from chinese toys!
    Aim small, miss small!

Boolit Master in Heaven's Range
    High school chemistry class stuff.

Lead is a chemical Element, just as are Hydrogen, Oxygen, Nitrogen, Silver, Gold, Mercury, Tin, Antimony, Sulfur, Iron, Aluminum, Carbon, and a near hundred others. A chemical element is something that can't be broken down into smaller parts that have distinct characteristics. An element's atoms are unique. All atoms in a theoretical pure lead ingot are identical. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chemical_element