Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
Titan ReloadingInline FabricationSnyders JerkyLee Precision
Repackbox Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ruger Flat Top 44 Special loading

Boolit Grand Master

Ruger Flat Top 44 Special loading

I've got a Ruger Flat Top Bisley in 44 Special that was a Lipsey special run. I'm new to loading the 44 Special and have read for days on the strength of the smaller framed Blackhawks but have yet to find a consensus on what level loading are appropriate for this frame and cylinder.

I've looked back at Brian Pearce's article showing level 1,2,3 loadings and it seems the later generation SAA are ok with level 2 loads and the FT is stronger than the SAA. He was able to push a 245 gr Keith out at 1000 to almost 1200 fps. If I can get to that, I think I'd have, arguably, the best packing pistol. Similar to Keith's original #5 before he went to the 4" N Frame 44 Mag.

I'd probably stick to 2400 as I have plenty or even IMR4227.

The level 1 loads are <15.5K PSI
    The level 2 loads are <22k PSI
    The level 3 loads are <25K PSI

If I can get good accuracy in the 950-1050 fps area, I'd be happy as a clam. Seems this is doable at level 2 loadings.

Is the Ruger FT small frame Lipsey anniversary guns able to digest the level 3 loadings?

I did find Brian Pearce's article on the FT 44 Special with accompanying load data. My velocity target seems to be quite easy to reach with the correct powder.
    Last edited by osteodoc08; 12-18-2017 at 04:14 AM.

Boolit Grand Master
    Mine shoots so well with Skeeter Loads, I haven't done much else with it. At least not with heavy loads. A 429-421 over 7.5 grains of Unique shoots extremely well. I have also used 8.0 grains of Power Pistol under the same boolit.
    _________________________________________________It's not that I can't spell: it is that I can't type.