Lee PrecisionRepackboxRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersTitan ReloadingLoad DataInline Fabrication
Snyders Jerky Reloading Everything

Thread: New guy with question.....

Boolit Mold

New guy with question.....

Fisrt of all I am new to this site. I have been doing a lot of reading and have a couple more weeks to go just to get a good idea about casting.

I am not sure if I have the proper forum for my question. What I was wondering is this. Can I put a GC on a bullet that was not made for them? I guess what I am asking is can I just force it on?

I am fairly new to casting, I did learn one real good lesson. If a bullet sticks in your mold do not poke it out with your finger. Their is a big difference between set up and cool. The wound should be healed in another week or so.

Thanks for any help. I really like the site and have laerned a lot just by hanging out in the chat room.

Have a good day, David.

Boolit Master

Why would you want to put a gas check on something it was not made for?
    Unless you machine each casting, I doubt it.

Boolit Mold
    The mold I use does not make the "ring" for the GC. This is not a problem because all I have used these for are very light 38 loads. I was wanting to find out if I can crimp on the GC so I can load them at a higher vel. for the 357 mag.

Wow I just doubed my post count . lol

Boolit Master

You will not need to. I push .357 mag pretty stiff without a gas check.
    No leading.
    I water quench. I guess that helps.

Boolit Mold
    Thanks.

I saw a post about water quenching. I had not heard about that before but am going to try it.

Moderator Emeritus / Trusted loob groove dealer

Somers, Montana, a quaint little drinking village,with a severe hunting and fishing problem.
    Learned a lot in the chat room? Who was in there? Surely, not the usual suspects!!!!!