RepackboxLoad DataTitan ReloadingWideners
Reloading Everything Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cutting Dovetails by KSCO

CEO/CFO GunLoads Gunload Master's Avatar

Cutting Dovetails by KSCO

Cutting Dovetails by Hand
    By Jim KCSO
    Let’s start this off by my issuing a disclaimer; I’m not an expert at anything. I am a poor country boy gunsmith who has been lucky enough to be able to learn from his elders. What I am passing on here I was fortunate enough to pick up from folks like Greg Roberts of the Green River Rifle works, Bill Large, Doc Carlson and V.M Starr. I have cut enough dovetails by hand so that is I don’t happen to have a 5/16 rougher in the mill I will just cut one rather than take time to set up the mill. If you work slowly and carefully you can cut as neat and as well a fitting dovetail as any machine. So listen up…
    Tools required:
    1 square file, preferably with a safe edge
    1 Triangular file 60 degree with, safe edge REQUIRED
    1 small square
    1 depth gauge, this doesn’t have to be fancy my favorite was made from a broken CB antenna.
    1 Hacksaw with a 24 tooth blade.
    The safe files should look like this…

I ordered these files from MSC and made the safe edges by grinding them flat on a grinding wheel. I kept the temper by keeping them wet and keeping my finger on the stock as I ground.
    To start the dovetail take a square and mark the barrel with two lines just smaller than the top of the dovetail. You want to err on the side of caution here as you can always make the dovetail bigger but you can’t very well make it smaller. The take the sight and make sure that all casting lines and burrs are removed the base of the sight should be clean and smooth or the sight won’t fit properly.

Here is the barrel with the sight and the square on it. Notice that the pencil lines are NARROWER than the top flat of the intended sight.