MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 45 Acp Swc

45 Acp Swc

I just loaded up 50

185 gr cast semi wad cutter
    4.4 gr Bullseye

This is my first time loading semi wad cutters. I seated these just a tad above the case with a little crimp. I used Vance boolits, dont know what mold this is, and this turned out a 1.25" COAL. I am going to run them through my Glock 21 using a aftermarket rifled barrel. Anyone see anything wrong with this? I have been running 4.5 gr Bullseye with my 230 gr round nose. I had a hard time going through all the books finding the data for the SWC. A lot of conflicting data.
    Last edited by ddeaton; 05-20-2008 at 08:59 AM.

Boolit Bub
    Quote Originally Posted by ddeaton View Post
    I just loaded up 50

4.4 gr Bullseye

... I am going to run them through my Glock 21. Anyone see anything wrong with this? ....
    I was under the impression that cast bullets should not be fired in a factory Glock barrel.
    "Sometimes you make eight - sometimes you hit dirt!"

Regards - GCF

Boolit Grand Master
    I'm with GCF ! !

If that is a factory GLOCK barrel, you're flirting with a disaster shooting cast bullets.

Ben

Wow, I musta hit a sore spot. Slow down fellas. I am shooting through a aftermarket rifled barrel. Thats all I use in my Glocks. Although I have been known to walk on the dark side.

Quote Originally Posted by ddeaton View Post
    I just loaded up 50

4.4 gr Bullseye

This is my first time loading semi wad cutters.
    I have a lighter spring to shoot sub 4gr loads . You "can" increase the charge as a bullet gets lighter . Sound like a workable target load .

I love the 185 JHP Zero bullets that are hard to come by these days.

Moderator Emeritus

Sounds pretty mild to me. I've been using 5.0gr behind a 230gr (Lyman 452374) for about 800fps.
    Reloading Data Project - (in retirement)
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/reloadersrfrnce/