Lee PrecisionLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
Inline FabricationWidenersRotoMetals2Repackbox
Reloading Everything Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning Solvents - Back to Hoppes #9

Cleaning Solvents - Back to Hoppes #9

Tried some Ballistol. Cleaned 2 38's after a weekend of shooting. Did not care for smell and cleaning action was less than spectacular. Have used Hoppes for years and prefer it. Tried the B product because it was touted as cleaner and lubricant/preservative. Concluded I'd rather add a little oil as final step with Hoppes than deal with bad smell of Ballistol.

Ballistol doesn't seem to exist around here. I have been using Hoppes for 40 years. It does a good job for me.

Boolit Master

I tend to agree that Hoppes 9 does a good job. Folks that have been using it for years and years say they have changed the formula and it doesn't do as good a job as that of yesteryear. It may not but Hoppes still does pretty good for me. I will say that I also like and use Ballistol especially for black powder swabbing and cleaning. I am different in that I do like the smell of Ballistol almost as much as the old original Hoppes #9. For me two smells I really like are the smell of leather and the old Hoppes #9 formula.
    Mark 5:34 And He said to her (Jesus speaking), "Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace and be healed of your affliction."

Boolit Bub
    Ballistol does nothing well. Waste of money. I clean with Hoppe's with a shot Kroil mixed in. I lube with the correct lubricant for the gun and the weather. I rust preserve mostly with CorrosionX. Eezox is a good preservative too, but it's nasty toxic.

I go through a couple bottles of Hoppes #9 a year, I haven't tried very many others, I guess if it ain't broke don't fix it.

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    I mix my own Ed's Red. Works for me
    The ENEMY is listening.
    HE wants to know what YOU know.
    Keep it to yourself.