RepackboxLoad DataLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
WidenersSnyders JerkyReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
Titan Reloading MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New here, Finally learned to cast

Boolit Mold

New here, Finally learned to cast

Been a Reloader for awhile, but finally cast my first boolits yesterday. I went and met a friend mine who casts a lot and has been doing it for 30+ years and he helped mentor me along the way.

I cast 9mm 120gr TC and some .357/.38 158gr boolits.

I can easily see me adding my moulds along the way, quickly.

I'm sure I'll have a bunch of questions, I'll be sure to hit up the stickies first.

Casting can be addictive.

Welcome! I have been reloading for the past 35 years and casting for about the last 10. It is very rewarding, personally and financially. There is something about taking a dirty wheel weight and transforming it into a precision, shiny, accurate bullet that continues to amaze me.

Banned

I wish that I had a mentor when I started casting. HE saved you a lot of wondering, and answered your questions just by watching him do his work. Priceless!

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by dondiego View Post
    I wish that I had a mentor when I started casting. HE saved you a lot of wondering, and answered your questions just by watching him do his work. Priceless!
    Yeah, I had a mentor when I first started reloading and looked for one to start casting. My other mentor called me while I was casting and told me he had a bunch of 1# our lead ingots for me, as well as a bunch of lead sheets that came off roofs.

It was great to have a mentor to show me casting. I had a ton of questions, even after reading my Lyman 49th and Lee manuals. I'll be buying the Lyman casting manual very soon.

Banned

Welcome! You are in the right place. Read all you can.

Don

Boolit Grand Master