Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLoad Data
WidenersTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky

Thread: Time between casting/shooting

Boolit Grand Master

Time between casting/shooting

Just wondering how long you wait from casting a boolit, to sizing and shooting it? Also, air cooled vs. water cooled.

Boolit Grand Master
    Depends. I like to let them sit a week or two. What I won't do is let a shortage of aged bullets keep me from shooting!

I tend to water drop everything out of habit. If I air cooled I would want 2 weeks min of aging of I could but again, I shoot when I want, not when the bullets are aged.
    You will learn far more at the casting, loading, and shooting bench than you ever will at a computer bench.

I'm fairly new to this, but I don't wait long at all. Cast, let them cool, tumble lube, load and shoot - often within 24 hours. At this point I'm shooting as cast. Mine are COWW or 50/50 COWW/Pb, air cooled.
    All government without the consent of the governed is the very definition of slavery - Jonathan Swift
    You have enemies? Good, it means you've done something with your life - Winston Churchill

Boolit Grand Master
    Ten days-two weeks.
    I usually have enough to load by planning ahead.

Shiloh
    Je suis Charlie

"A society of sheep must in time beget a government of wolves."
    Bertrand de Jouvenel

“Any government that does not trust its citizens with firearms is either a tyranny, or planning to become one.” – Joseph P. Martino

“If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert , in five years there would be a shortage of sand.” – Milton Friedman

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns; why should we let them have ideas?" - J. Stalin

I like to wait at least 2 days before loading. If I am trying something new I will often load and shoot in 24 hours. I water drop so most boolits are tough enough in a day.

Boolit Mold