Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
RepackboxLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
Wideners Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Casting for a 92fs, 9mm or 357 mold?

Boolit Bub

Question Casting for a 92fs, 9mm or 357 mold?

Im still pretty new to cast bullets and have a question. I slugged my beretta 92fs and it came to .357 / .349 so I was wondering if a regular lee 9mm mold will be too small? Should I go with a 357 mold and size it to 358? Basically I just want to know what size mold I should get and what size of a sizer I should get for it. I have been powder coating my rifle bullets but I probably wont be doing that for these since they dont go at high enough velocities. I also have a Kahr cm9 that I havent slugged yet.

If anyone else has experience with lee molds (im a pretty poor college student, I cant afford them fancy expensive molds :P ) in a 92fs, what did you have luck with?

over the hill, out in the woods and far away

Boolit Master

I had a 92f many years ago. I used the Lee Tl356-124 mold with COWW's. Never bothered to size them. Tumble lubed with LLA and had no leading issues. That 92f ate them up.
    "If you could kick the person in the pants responsible for most of your trouble, you wouldn't sit for a month."
    Theodore Roosevelt

Boolit Master
    I had a 92G that was UNUSUALLY large. I tried as cast .358's and still got hints of leading.
    They are great guns but can be a little tricky to cast for.

Try running what you have, as cast an tumble lubed. You'll know by looking if it's gonna work or not, after just a few rounds. It's worth trying.

Boolit Master
    I would be inclined to try LEEs 358 125 RF. It should cast large enough, (I would try .358" first, and go bigger if necessary). Of my 3 9mm's, 2 take .358" and 1 takes .359".

Boolit Bub