Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingRepackboxWideners
Load DataTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
Snyders Jerky Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: top 10 pistol powders a list

top 10 pistol powders a list

Im new to this great hobby and on top of it all pistol powders are hard to find. I went to gunbot.net and was blown away at how many powders there are and the names and part numbers are mind altering. All I know about are the main ones .AA#2 AA#5 red dot win 231 unique. Everyone on earth wants these and they are difficult to find locally or even on line. Id like you guys that have tried them all to suggest some alternate pistol powders for 9mm and 45 acp. so a guy can search more effectively and buy with confidence. How about surplus powders?? thanks

Super Moderator

Bullseye & Clays and Titegroup need to be added to the list.

Boolit Master

I use Clays for my 45 acp and 38 special loads. I already had a pretty good stock of it from loading 12 gauge target loads. I've been very pleased with it.
    Rick

Boolit Master

power pistol, blue dot

Boolit Master

I think the easiest way to do this is look through the reloading manuals at the type of loads you want to use to see what powders are used and compare that to what powders you can find. Also, many powders with similar names/numbers are very different so be sure to pay close attention and some powders like W231/HP38 are identical.
    "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same......." - Ronald Reagan

"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather, we should thank God that such men lived." - George Patton

The second amendment is a nail on which hangs a picture of freedom - member Alex 4x4 Tver, Russia