Snyders JerkyTitan ReloadingWidenersMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading EverythingRepackboxLoad DataRotoMetals2
Inline Fabrication Lee Precision
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: .45 ACP +P, .45 Super and .45-08 Heavy Boolit Load Data?

Boolit Grand Master

.45 ACP +P, .45 Super and .45-08 Heavy Boolit Load Data?

I have a friend who wants to use his 1911 as a carry gun in the bush for bear protection.

He is proficient and comfortable with it and does not want to consider other options so don't go there.

He had heard about the .45-08 which was developed for use in "modified" 1911's with bear protection in mind but using 200 gr. bullets. My friend wants to use 250 gr. RNFP's and already has 50 rounds of .45-08 brass.

He is a reloader but not too innovative so he asked me if I could help him sort out a load. I have a lot more reloading experience than he does but I am not much of a handgun shooter or reloader ~ rifle and shotgun for me. So, I am not very experienced with the 1911 and reloading .45 ACP or its "wildcat" kin.

So far I have found some data on .45-08 but not for boolits heavier than 200 gr. I have e-mailed Armco who developed the .45-08 but no response and the owner is semi retired so I may not get one.

From what I am finding, .45-08 and .45 Super seem to be pretty similar though .45 Super seems to run at a little higher pressures, has a barrel that fully supports the case head and seems to require a stiffer recoil spring. I am no expert here though and info seems sparse.

I have dug out a bunch of .45 ACP +P load data as well and some of that is pretty hot and uses heavier than "normal" boolits of up to 260 gr.

The goal here is to get a 250 gr. boolit up to about 1000 FPS if possible in a Dlask 1911 with 20 lb. recoil spring and suggested shock buffer. I think he may need a stiffer recoil spring. I do not know about the case head support in the Dlask barrel but that is one issue mentioned with .45 Super so I will have to check that one out.