RotoMetals2RepackboxWidenersLoad Data
Reloading EverythingInline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee Precision
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: A beginner's guide to revolver accuracy

A beginner's guide to revolver accuracy

I am a newbie. (there, I said it) I have been casting bullets for only a short time, but I have found some things that I believe are quite beneficial to finding accuracy with revolvers. I have asked a lot of questions and gleaned most of these things from the writing of this forum. I then put them to the test in my shooting I have really enjoyed reading all the different discussions about accuracy, but I wish I could have seen a simple list of things that put things together for me at a beginner’s level. It is easy to get overwhelmed when you are getting started.

Please feel free to contribute or disagree. This list is not intended to be the end all discussion of revolver accuracy, but to give the newbie a roadmap that hits the high points. Maybe someone would like to do a list for auto pistols, rifles, and lever guns.

Crabo

A beginner’s guide to ……revolver accuracy

1. Start with a bullet that has a reputation for being a good bullet. A few examples are: the 250 K in 44, the H&G 68 in .45 acp, and the H&G 51 in 357. Is this bullet going to be used as a hunting, target, plinking, or combat load? This will be a factor in what bullet design you decide to use. You might want a round nose bullet to use in a speedloader or a swc for hunting. I have found that a plain base bullet will often shoot better than a bevel based bullet in the same design. Wheel weights are great raw material for casting revolver bullets.

2. Make sure that your lead and your molds are hot enough. Many of the more experienced casters run their pots at maximum heat. You can preheat your molds on a hotplate while your pot is coming up to temperature. I cut a wood block to hold my mold handles so the mold can sit flat on the plate while it preheats.