RepackboxReloading EverythingWidenersMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionInline Fabrication
Snyders Jerky Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Will my WW and ranger scrap mix make good 30 cal rifle boolits?

Boolit Buddy

Will my WW and range scrap mix make good 30 cal rifle boolits?

I've been casting pistol boolits for several years now and just recently picked up a 30 cal mold for my Rem .308 SPS 1-12 twist. I was wondering if the mix I have been using for my pistol bullets would work ok for the rifle? I still have to find gas checks and get my sizer but I would really like to try some soon.
    Last edited by supv26; 03-17-2013 at 12:13 AM.
    It's not the destination, it's the journey.

Boolit Grand Master
    No reason why a WW/ range scrap mix shouldn't work.
    Good fit and a gas check will help.

Boolit Master

I use that mix for all my handguns.

I also use it in my .30-30 and .30 Carbine.

My mix measures around 10 BNH.
    First reload: .22 Hornet. 1956.
    More at: http://reloadingtips.com/

"Any man who thinks he can be happy and prosperous by letting the
    government take care of him better take a closer look at the American Indian."
    - Henry Ford

You can allways quench them in water to make harder. Put something soft like a towel in bottom of pan of water to catch after dropping from hot mould.

Boolit Buddy
    Quote Originally Posted by detox View Post
    You can allways quench them in water to make harder. Put something soft like a towel in bottom of pan of water to catch after dropping from hot mould.
    I may try this as I have done it with some pistol bullets. I just need to come up with a way to do this keeping the water from splashing up onto the mold. It's always funny how one little boolit can make such a huge freaking splash!!! LOL

Boolit Bub
    A little drop of water on the mould is not a problem. Just keep the water away from the pot!