RotoMetals2Load DataSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingInline FabricationLee Precision
Repackbox Wideners
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best press and dies to load .50 BMG?

Banned

Best press and dies to load .50 BMG?

I have an RCBS Ammomaster with the 1-1/2" by 12 TPI hole, but no other equipment yet.

Lee dies get rave reviews and many claim they're getting less runout than with the other brands, but the Lees only fit the smaller 1-1/4" by 12 TPI Lee presses like the Classic Cast.

The Lee .50 BMG kit based on the Classic Cast is almost a hundred bucks less than a two-die RCBS or Hornady die set, and the Lee kit includes a priming setup and shellholder with it too.

Since I already have the press, it makes sense to buy the RCBS or Hornady dies, shellholder, priming setup, etc., but totaled up I could buy two complete Lee kits for the same money.

The Lee press is a tad too short to easily position a bullet for seating, and I worry a bit if it's up to the task.

What are you guys using, and am I better off spending the bucks to put the AmmoMaster to work?

Gear

Boolit Master
    Possibly the Dillon BFG press, made specifically for .50BMG.
    You could see if Lee will make you a Lee Classic Loader for it.
    Have fun geargnasher...

Banned

I could buy a lot of loaded ammo for $2500!

Gear

Boolit Master

500 to 600 rounds of surplus...at todays prices !
    Or ~400 rounds of Hornady A-max ammo.
    You Know You Might Be Facing your DOOM , if all you get is a click, Instead of a BOOM !

If God had wanted us to have Plastic gun stocks he would have planted plastic Trees !

Boolit Buddy
    the lee press works just fine
    i load around 1,000 rounds (ball & match ammo) with mine before i bought my hollywood senior (I hate constantly resetting my dies & i'm a huge fan of turret presses)
    you could always buy the ch4d adapter to fit the lee dies in your ammomaster press
    what are you loading for (gun)?