Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingWidenersLoad Data
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2RepackboxMidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline Fabrication Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: duplex patching

duplex patching

im fairly new to patching so im trying many diff things to see where ill settle in at. i really enjoy black powder but have not experimented with the lube cookies that i feel are a need for straight bp loads...however i have experimented with duplex loads. namely using no more or less then 10% smokless...[imr 3031]...grains of which are subtracted from the whole of the powder grains to be used...such as this load;

6 grains imr 3031 along with 54 grains of goex 2f black powder...[total of 60 grains]...this all compressed 1/4 inch in the case for loading a 457125 gubberment boolit sized to .452 then wrapped wet with 9 pound onion skin...[for a total of .458 inch]...sparked with a cci 200 primer...all inside a fired UN-sized remington case...this load obviously is a 100 % density load which i find to be best in my shooting experience.

this load and 9 other combo's with diff grains and boolits and slicks as well as groove boolits sized to the .452 diameters shoot very well so far and the resultant fouling in the barrel is non existant...i mean very clean and requires no swabbing between shots whats so ever.

i guess my question is thusly...has anyone here tryed or experimented with these duplex loads and what was or is your outcome? posted this question on the bp patching site and have had hardly any return comments except that its not 100% blackpowder ...and...why? so thought id post here to find out if i can find others as foolish as myself in these proceedings.

thanks all

Boolit Buddy
    I have a very curious mind (ask my wife), but I have not yet been tempted to blend black powder and smokeless. In the smokeless reloading world duplex/blended loads are considered a no no.