Lee PrecisionRepackboxSnyders JerkyWideners
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading Everything
MidSouth Shooters Supply Load Data

Thread: My Tokarev headaches

Boolit Bub

My Tokarev headaches

Hey fellas, need help badly. I have an Hungarian Tokarev given to me several months ago from the widow of one of our gun club members, deceased about two years ago. I have been casting, loading etc for about 25 years so I am new to the sport, but I am very flustered. I own about 50 sets of molds, 5 presses, the whole kit and kabootle.
    I also had an awful pile of 223 Rem brass, and set about converting a bunch of this brass to 7.62 x 25 Tokarev.
    I been at this for about a month now. I cut the brass down, lubed it, sized it in the Tok dies, reamed out the neck with a .302 reamer, trimmed them down and then resized them.
    I slugged the barrel at .310". At first, I made 10 rounds using Lee's 311-93-1r bullet, lubed with Lee liquid Alox. Bullets were not sized, but lubed as is. I had difficulty getting some of the rounds to chamber, so back at it I went. I thought the necks were maybe to stretched without the bullets sized down. I finally settled using 6 grains of Unique, after working up several loads.
    At first after some headbutting, I ended up setting the shoulders back just a hair,
    sized the bullets in my Lyman 450 using a 308 die, and found the pistol cycling wonderfully, but counted some key holes. I then decided that maybe 308 was to much and decided to put the unsized bullets in a case that I had set the shoulders back a wee bit, now the rounds won't sit in the chamber properly. I was using the barrel as a guide.
    I am knew to this cartridge and am just about ready to place it back in the safe. What should I do, Get a 309 or 310 size die, I know there are a lot of clever reloaders out there who may have gone through what I have, but any advice would be super. Please help.

Boolit Grand Master