RotoMetals2RepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
Load DataInline FabricationSnyders JerkyReloading Everything
Lee Precision Titan Reloading

Thread: Home made lube for 22 cal boolits

Boolit Bub

Home made lube for 22 cal boolits

Ok so i finally got my butt in gear and ordered a lyman m die so i can start playing with boolits in my marlin 219 zipper. I have the lyman 55 gr and the lyman 45 gr molds, which is what i will be trying to develop loads for. I tried some through it the other day that i loaded at a friends house that where lubed with a combination of speed green and javalina but was thinking a home made concoction would be cool to try so that i could make up a big batch to pan lube lots of little boolits at once. Am looking at trying to get 2000 to 2500 fps velocity.

Banned
    Being a lube cook I hate to admit the following. I had best luck in .22 cf's using a light coating of Lee liquid mule snot followed by a real light dusting of motor mica. It outshot all the wax lubes I had available for testinng which was substantial. Weird thing is that this is theeeeee only time I have had this happen and it only did it with the 22's at 2 to 3K velocity.

Boolit Bub
    hmm i will have to try that combo as well then.

Boolit Grand Master

I have used Felix lube over 2600fps in my K hornet and 223. If you want to buy some lube Bullshops Lotak worked great for me in the same calibers.
    Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway!

Men who don't understand women fall into two categories: bachelors and husbands!

Boolit Grand Master

Wyoming