Inline FabricationLoad DataWidenersRotoMetals2
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters Supply Repackbox

Thread: Need advice on die size for Star Lube/Sizer

Boolit Bub

Need advice on die size for Star Lube/Sizer

I’m looking for a little advice with regards to the die I need for a lube/sizer I’m getting, and any other advice anyone might care to offer. I am not new to shooting or reloading, but I AM new to working with cast bullets.

I’m taking the plunge and buying a Magma/Star Lubesizer. I’m getting the basic machine plus the heated base. I may get the air feed system for the lube later. Don’t know about the bullet feeder.

Initially I’m going to be sizing bullets that were cast for 44 Mag. I have 8000 of them I got from a friend who quit shooting. These are cast, but not lubed or sized. They were cast on a commercial machine and are 240 grain SWC bullets. They appear to be very uniform and are nice bullets. I’m not sure what the alloy is but I think it’s wheel weight (or close). There is one large lube groove in the body of the bullet, and a narrower groove higher which I assume is the crimping groove.

I presume you do not put lube in the crimping groove, if that is what it is, but I’m not sure about that.

Between myself and a friend we have 4 different guns. All are S&W but one is an older 29-2 with a custom 5” bull barrel, one is brand new from the S&W Performance Shop with a 7 ½” barrel, one is a Hunter Classic with the 6 ½” barrel, and one is a basic 29-2 with a 4” barrel. All S&W in 44 Mag but all in different models and configurations.

Purpose is strictly target shooting.

Now I know in an ideal world one should slug the barrel and order a die sized accordingly (about 1/1000 larger). But if I do that I’ll need 4 dies. I guess that’s not impossible, but I’d like to buy them one at a time to keep immediate costs down.