MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2RepackboxLoad Data
Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingLee Precision
Inline Fabrication Wideners

Thread: 2400

Boolit Master

I was visiting the "Ask Veral" forum on GBO the other night, just cause I have heard so much good about LBT moulds, although I have no experience with them, I was curious. What caught my attention most was the statment Veral made about 2400 powder burning the throats out of barrels faster than a lot of other powders. Has anyone else experienced this with 2400. I have shot it for quite a while, but have not experienced this condition. Not saying it does not happen, just wondering maybe how many shots approximately it would take to do this. I know double base powders are hotter than single base, just wondering how long I can expect my 657 S&W to maybe last.
    My mother always said I was the Flower of the Family, The Blooming Idiot

Boolit Master
    I have not before read about 2400 being particularly hard on throats compared to any other powder. And I've been reading a lot for awhile.
    Paul

Boolit Man
    Dumb me, but what is 'GBO'?

Thanks,

salty

Crabo

Do not argue with idiots. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Moderator Emeritus

Quote Originally Posted by saltydog452 View Post
    Dumb me, but what is 'GBO'?

Thanks,

salty
    Greybeards Outdoors

http://www.go2gbo.com/forums/index.php
    Give us this day our daily lead.

Sic Semper Tyrannis.

If you don't want 1984 you're going to need some 1776.
    WWGWD

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by pmeisel View Post
    I have not before read about 2400 being particularly hard on throats compared to any other powder. And I've been reading a lot for awhile.
    All you gotta do is go to Grey Beard Outdoors and read some more in Veral Smiths forum.

Boolit Master