PDA

View Full Version : Boolit Sizing ??

buyobuyo
12-01-2010, 10:27 PM
Hello, I'm fairly new to casting and I have a few questions about boolit sizing. I purchased on of the Mihec 125-HP group buy molds in 359, and the boolits drop at 0.360". The firearms I want to shoot these out of are a 9mm pistol and a .357 revolver.

Both barrels slug to 0.356" and the revolver cylinder throats slug to 0.3585". For revolver loading, I've read suggestions for both sizing just a hair under throat size to a thousandth or two over throat size, and I've read suggestions for sizing to 1-2 thousandths over bore size to as large as will chamber for auto pistols.

Could I just size to 0.358" and run them in both pistols? I've loaded boolits sized to .385 before for my 9mm, so I know they'll chamber. If I need to size smaller for some reason, how much sizing is too much? And is it better to do it in 1-2 thousandths steps or all at once? Finally, how big is too big for a cast boolit compared to bore size? Or is it fine as long as it's within the right caliber range and chambers in the gun?

Thanks, Jeremy

Bret4207
12-02-2010, 08:03 AM
Try it and see. There more I play with cast, the more people I hear from here, the less I think in terms of absolutes. If .358 has worked before then start there and see what happens. When you alter things change only one thing at a time and record you observations. Yes, you can get too fat a boolit, but what happens on firing is dependent of a multitude of variables, so you might get pressure spikes that damage the gun or you might just get a little lead spitting. Usually, and I hesitate to imply there is a norm here, you'll find a truly oversized boolit simply won't chamber. The only guns I've heard much about being able to swallow a grossly oversized boolit are military rifles with some age on them.