PDA

View Full Version : Which boolit- 457125 or 457132?

saz
11-27-2010, 09:36 PM
Which one would be a better all around boolit? I am still learning and will eventually be shooting some sillywetts and some long range, but eventually want to plunk the $ down for a PJC or Steve Brooks etc. BTW, it will be for a pedersoli sharps in 45/70.

Bullshop
11-27-2010, 10:01 PM
I think the 132 is the Postell right? If yes then I think it the better of the two.
I dont like the thin drive bands on the 125 even though some folks do good shooting with it. I have heard the 125 referred to as the government bullet but it is not really a very close match to the original gov. design.
BA has a very close match to the original Gov design.

NickSS
11-27-2010, 10:58 PM
I have both and both are good bullets. I went to the postel to get a heavier bullet for long range but both shoot equally well in the rifles I tried them in. Eventually I want to get a really close copy of the original GI bullet as I would like to have it for my trapdoors.

Don McDowell
11-27-2010, 11:03 PM
If you're just going to use it for target shooting then go with the Postell. If you want to pull double duty and add hunting to the mix then go with the government bullet.
Saeco has a really good "government" bullet.

saz
11-28-2010, 12:17 AM
I was leaning to the postell boolit, but kept the government boolit in consideration because when I read Mike Venturino's book he kept the 125 in such high regard. It will be used primarily for punching paper and steel, as my rifle is a little heavy for hunting. But I have heard a lot about issues with Lyman's quality lately. Anyone have any insight on their molds these days?

Don McDowell
11-28-2010, 12:31 AM
A couple of the Lyman moulds I've got in the last few years weren't so hot, but the last 3 have been just fine.
You might want to look at this bullet for a government bullet http://www.buffaloarms.com/browse.cfm/4,2973.html

mustanggt
11-28-2010, 12:55 AM