PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else use hearing aids

RayinNH
10-07-2006, 10:51 PM
Thursday morning I went for a hearing test. The audiologist told me I had severe hearing loss. He asked me if I knew how it might have happened, seeing that I'm only 51. I said sure, shooting and 28 years of metalworking. He had to add 40-70 decibels of volume for me to hear some of the sounds. Turns out he is a sporting clay shooter. When I started shooting real firearms in the late 60's hearing protection wasn't that easy to find. About the best thing you could find was the filters of off cigarettes to stuff in your ears. Usually you went without. A couple hours of shooting a .270 Winchester would translate into about three days worth of ear ringing. Now hearing protection is available everywhere from sporting good and hardware stores. I've even seen the foam plugs at store checkouts right along side the emergency condums and breath mints. What the foam plugs have to do with the other two, I haven't put that together yet. Now off course hearing and eye protection are mandatory at the range I frequent.
The other thing that has ruined my hearing is work. In the early years as a carpenters helper listening to table and circular saws wining a good part of the day. Now it's metalworking. Fifteen years spent as a blacksmith beating on an anvil most of the day. During that fifteen years and up until now,28 years total it's the noise from compressors and air tools, drills and grinders, both electric and air, and the crackle from MIG and stick welding. Now of course I wear the ear protection as often as possible.
Take heed you younger guys and wear ear protection when doing noisy stuff. To puy it in easy to understand terms,the cost of those hearing aids would buy approximately 45 Mosin Nagant rifles. Yup a whole pallet of them...Ray

felix
10-07-2006, 11:00 PM