PDA

View Full Version : I'm making crappy bullets with these new molds...

Jimmy
11-08-2010, 11:45 PM
Hi Folks,

I've been casting for a couple months now. I started out just casting 38 special bullets out of straight wheel weights using a little 4 pound Lee Furnace with a 2 cavity Lee mold (TL358-158-SWC). I can turn out great bullets with this mold and they have shot well.
I decided to upgrade the pot to one with a bottom pour, and I also grabbed a couple Lee six-cavity for 9mm and 45 (TL356-124-2R and TL452-230-2R).
With the 45 caliber mold, the bullets turn out OK with some wrinkles. With the 9mm, I can't get one decent frickin bullet. The things come out lookin like lil turds.
I make sure to let the molds heat up super hot. They get even hotter when I pour more and more into the molds. I thought something was wrong, so I went back to my 2 cavity 38 special mold (also made by Lee) and on the first shot, I get perfect looking bullets... So I know it's not the mix or the furnace.

What is it with my six cavity molds? I'm attaching a picture. The **** on the left is the wannabe 9mm bullet that the mold turns out. Next in line is a wrinkly lookin 45 caliber. Next is a decent 45 caliber. Last is a 38 special that I never seem to have a problem with.

All help and advice is appreciated. Thanks.

arjacobson
11-08-2010, 11:49 PM
I don't know if its the right way to do it but I preheat my lee molds with a propane torch.. Is your molds broke in good? I had to mess with my lees a bit they cast beautiful now..

HangFireW8
11-08-2010, 11:51 PM
I dunno, still looks like a cold mold boolit to me... how long did it take the sprues to cool, and how hard was it to cut the sprues with the 9mm?

Ole
11-08-2010, 11:52 PM
Have you cleaned your 6 cavity molds with soap and water and mineral spirits?

Shiloh
11-08-2010, 11:53 PM