PDA

View Full Version : Explanation of changes when alloys are added - don't get it

chutestrate
11-07-2010, 04:55 PM
This is from a link by rotometals. I'm new to casting, and I don't get the whole alloy recipe concepts. Once I test my bullet hardness I'll have to decide what I want to do with it. I'm still struggling with how to increase/decrease hardness, when to do it, what to use, etc. The LASC.US site is probably a great resource, but right now it's over my head.

My Lee manual is ok for reloading data, but not getting much for casting guidance either.

Weight and Size differences. As the percentages of the alloys in a melt change other changes occur in addition to the weight of the bullet. In general the higher the percentage of Sb the larger the as cast diameter of the bullet and the larger the diameter of the bullet the more increase there is. In other words a 45 caliber bullet will show more of an increase than a .308" caliber bullet (table 3). In addition, the alloy percentages have a direct effect on the final sized diameter (table 1). I imagine the sizer die makers get daily phone calls from customers complaining (as an example) that their .309" die sizes to .3084" and not .309". If you change the alloy the weight, as cast diameter, shrinkage, sized diameter and BHN all change. Higher Sb percentages also result in less shrinkage as the bullet cools and it's possible for this simple fact to result in bullets that are a bit tougher to get to fall from the mold (table 2). From the tables it can also be seen that in reverse the softer the alloy (less Sb) and the larger the diameter of the bullet that more shrinkage will occur.

jsizemore
11-07-2010, 06:17 PM