PDA

View Full Version : Merit optical gadget?

DanM
11-04-2010, 05:42 PM
Wasn't sure where to put this question, but here goes. Does the Merit gadget help with peep sights? I have read many good reviews, but not sure how it does with peeps. What do you think?

rhbrink
11-04-2010, 07:01 PM
Which gadet are you asking about? I use one that sticks on my glasses and it does help clear up the front sight. To me it works better for the open sights a little easier to get lined up maybe than the peeps.

vernm
11-04-2010, 07:10 PM
I am not an expert in optcal formulas or principles. But the Merit gadget is used primarily by pistol shooters over forty years of age. An aperture (peep) extends your field of view and brings the front sight into focus when your eyes are too old to do it themsevles. As your vision gets worse you may need the help of a special prescription in glasses or a lens in the rear aperture of a rifle sight.

I don't know if you could even use a Merit with an aperture rear sight. If you could, I'm not sure two apertures would be of any benetit.

BD
11-04-2010, 08:03 PM
I have a merit that I stick on my glasses for handgun shooting for groups on occasion. I've tried it on on a few rifles, it doesn't do anything for me on a peep that the peep isn't already doing. On V & bead sights it will really clear up the front sight, but if I can't see it at 300 yards, I still can't see it with the merit.

leadhead
11-04-2010, 09:09 PM
I love the merit. I've used one for years and could honestly not shoot
without it. I used it to shoot handgun silhoette for 22 years and now
use it to shoot all my military rifles, open and peeps. works for me.
Denny

Pepe Ray
11-04-2010, 09:26 PM
Talk about confusion!!
As one poster said, "It makes a difference as to WHICH gadget your talking about.
I can't believe that Oh heck.