PDA

View Full Version : 30-30 RCBS 30-180-FN will it work?

dale.l
11-03-2010, 10:22 PM
I have a winchester 94 30-30 pre-64, I would like to shoot cast out of this gun. I want to buy a few boxes to see how I like them before getting setup to cast my own. Im intersted in the RCBS 30-180-FN will this bullet work in a 30-30? I have two concerns.

1. the back of the bullet will be past the neck, I think only the gas check will be below the neck. will the flame cut the back of the bullet because of this?

2.when this bullet is crimped in the groove will it chamber in a 94, looks like it might hit the rifling before the bolt is closed.

my bore slugs at .308 should I buy .310 bullets?

Im new to cast bullets Thanks DALE

beagle
11-03-2010, 10:32 PM
Good to have you with us.

I use .310" sized bullets in my M94 Win and it likes them best seems like.

The 30-180-FN RCBS shoots well in my M94 but it casts at about 190 grains and is a bit heavy for my taste..

For a general purpose bullet, I normally use the 30-150-FN RCBS with better results on targets, plinking, etc./beagle

geargnasher
11-03-2010, 10:41 PM
Welcome to the insanity!

"Pre '64" usually refers to the model 70 bolt gun before Winny cheaped out on production methods and changed the design a bunch, not sure if production of the model 94 levergun was affected and am not sure why you specified that.