PDA

View Full Version : Scope help

Beekeeper
11-01-2010, 03:27 PM
Do we have an optics section?
Didn't find one so thought I would put it here.If wrong place Mod please move for me!
I have several scopes Bushnell and Simons, I am not very good with one (adjustments).
Friend at range recommended a scope with target knobs on it as better and easier for my old (real old ) eyes to adjust.
Now comes the rub.
It is not that I'm cheap(well I am I guess) but putting a 500 dollar scope on a 200 dollar rifle doesn't seem right.To me anyway.
So I am looking for an alternate scope ,With target knobs< that I can get without selling the farm to get it!
The only scopes I see with the target knobs are the "tacticool" ones and they just don't fit me "tacticool wise " i guess so I'm open for suggestions or comments.

Thanks,

Jim

oldhickory
11-01-2010, 04:17 PM
I've seen kits from companys like Stoney Point that offer target type turrets that screw onto your existing scope turrets and you simply turn the knob. Midway U.S.A. has some but they're dedicated to certain brands. http://www.midwayusa.com/browse/BrowseProducts.aspx?pageNum=1&tabId=14&categoryId=8751&categoryString=10611***19789*** Maybe someplace like "Spertsmans Guide" or "Cheaper Than Dirt"?

missionary5155
11-01-2010, 04:59 PM
Greetings
Unless you are going to do lots of adjustments in the field I would get that Bushnell sighted in and leave it set for whatever range. 2 inches high at 100 covers alot of point blank shooting.
All you need is a quarter to turn the knob. I carry a magnafier glass in my tool kit to see those small details up close and figure out which way to turn. I give the knob a quarter turn at a time whichever way I need to move the group.

Doc Highwall
11-01-2010, 05:02 PM