PDA

View Full Version : Saw Dust Fluxing

HighRoad
10-29-2010, 02:58 PM
So as a newbie, I was melting down some WWs last night and once I had scooped out all of the clips I put a handful of saw dust in. Now the saw dust just floated on the top of the melt. I would try to push it but it didn't seem to go down. I expected this stuff to start burning but it didn't. After 5 minutes it started to turn brown and then I scooped it out. The melt had a bright silver appearance and then developed what looked like a skim topping.
This sound right to ya all.

dragonrider
10-29-2010, 06:57 PM
What I do is put the sawdust in before removing the clips, allow it to char completely, when it is really smokin throw a match on it and let it burn completely, what you want is the carbon not the raw wood, once it has burned completely then stir the pot thouroughly. Scoop up ladles full and pour it back in repeatedly. Now remove the clips and as much floating dirt as you can, then repeat the process with fresh sawdust. I smelt 50 or so pound of ww's at a time and use two to three handfulls of sawdust each time I flux, You can't use too much. My smelting pot is a bottom pour so after the second flux I don't remove the burned sawdust I leave it there to provide a barrier and prevent oxidation.

Beau
10-29-2010, 07:29 PM
This helped me a lot. I'm getting ready to melt down ww's into ingots for the first time. Glad I looked around a bit before asking this same question myself.

What is the best way to get the clips out of the pot?

oneokie
10-29-2010, 09:46 PM
This helped me a lot. I'm getting ready to melt down ww's into ingots for the first time. Glad I looked around a bit before asking this same question myself.

What is the best way to get the clips out of the pot?

Slotted spoon.

swamp
10-30-2010, 12:03 AM
I use a magnet

a.squibload
10-30-2010, 03:28 AM
Somebody here uses a fry basket, I'm gonna try that.
I used to use needle nose pliers, takes too long.

fredj338
10-30-2010, 12:10 PM