PDA

View Full Version : Powder Burn Rate for 9mm

Mountain
09-28-2006, 07:18 PM
I would like to better understand the effect of powder burn rate on cast bullet performance in pistols such as the 9mm.

I have limited experience reloading the 9 as I produced ~3k rounds this summer using 125gr LRN bullets and 4.5gr Red Dot powder. This load chrono’d at 1130 fps and produces some lead streaks in my barrels grooves after 100-200 rounds fired. The lead cleans up fine by using a bronze brush so its not excessive.

Talking with members of my club and reading threads on this forum I see many shooters prefer to use a slower powder than Red Dot for this load. I used this powder because I primarilly use it for 12 ga. And have the remnants of an 8 lb. keg to work with.

So my question is: If I were to try a slower powder such as Unique what differences might I observe? Does anyone have any experience that they could share?

Lloyd Smale
09-28-2006, 07:23 PM
dont know but i use a bunch of bullseye in the 9s and dont have leading problem. My guess is your sizing to small. try sizing your bullets to .358 and if they wont function try .357 but i wouldnt go any smaller.

Rod B
09-28-2006, 07:32 PM
I have had very good results with 4.5 to 5 grains of Unique using a 124gr lead bullet.

Rod.

Mountain
09-28-2006, 07:36 PM
My guess is your sizing to small.

Good Guess!

I slugged my bore 0.3562 and the bullets I used were 0.3560

I plan to test some 0.358 then based on results select a mold to begin casting my own.

madcatter
09-28-2006, 07:39 PM
i think a slower powder may not give optium results if chronographed with a barrel shorter than 4.5inches.the slower burn rate will create more gas for the projectile but with a cast bullet i dont think it will gain all the charge has to give.
i have shot 4 grains in a 9mm years ago and after 200 i stopped.not only did the barrel lead the entire gun was filthy needing a pretty good teardown to clean.i just got tired of the dirt and shot brass