PDA

View Full Version : Mold for AR-15 - Bator vs. Saeco #221

orygun_native
10-27-2010, 10:26 AM
I've been kicking around the idea of casting for my AR for some time now. I was looking at a 4 cavity Saeco 221 mold because as much as I shoot my AR I'd like to have the production, but sticker shock gets me. I just saw now that the Bator mold at Midsouth is coming in a 6 cavity so I have one of those on the way. My question is: which boolit would be better for my AR with the 1:9 twist. I may someday try to do a build with 1:12 but for now my 1:9 Stag will have to do. I see from searching that the Bator has had some success in AR's but didn't know if the heavier Saeco #221 would be that much better. The cost between the two is almost $150 and so didn't know if it the Saeco is better is it $150 better.

Moonie
10-27-2010, 10:43 AM
Well that's just great, hasn't been that long since I got my 2 cav Bator, now they come out with a 6...

I have no experience with the Saeco but I do with the Bator, I'll have to get the 6 cav now. I have 3 boys that like shooting the AR as well and with the reject rate of those small cavity molds 3x the production would be great.

orygun_native
10-27-2010, 01:32 PM
The production factor is what was keeping me from buying a Bator mold. I just happened to stumble on it. The price can't be beat which is why I don't think I can justify the #221. But if there's a significant advantage I'd really look at the Saeco mold. Here's the link to the 6 cavity, and it looks to be in stock as of now:
http://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/item.asp?sku=0000622BATOR6

What kind of results have you had with the Bator bullet in your AR? What kind of AR and what loads are you working with?

JIMinPHX
10-27-2010, 02:00 PM
If you can get the Bator to feed, it should shoot well.

Doc Highwall
10-27-2010, 02:17 PM