PDA

View Full Version : Can Lead be "Too Pure" to cast?

Jayhem
10-22-2010, 11:21 AM
So recently I set out to cast up a few hundred muzzleloading boolits as the deer season for front loaders starts here Oct 30.

I usually cast my muzzleloading boolits from my 500 lb stash of old chilled lead shot but this year decided to try the pure lead sheets I had been given years ago but never smelted them down...it's tough to melt down sheets of lead, have to cut them into pieces first with a hatchet!

Anyway I finally got a nice smelt of this stuff going, got the mold up to temp, metal up to temp and started casting. 20-30 casts came out wrinkled with sprues that would not let go of the sprue plate and I was sure the metal was plenty hot, and I had fluxed it twice! I was left scratching my head. I have casted thousands of boolits with this mould, never had this happen. [smilie=f:

I'm no expert to boolit alloys but I remembered hearing that tin helps the metal flow better so had purchased a few sticks of it from rotometals a while back.

I put in 1 ounce of tin to my 5 lbs of metal, fluxed it again and instantly...PERFECT BOOLITS! I cast 150 last night and not one of them had to be returned to the pot. :-P

There is no question tin made the difference. I'm just wondering WHY my pure lead melt would not throw a single good boolit? Any ideas?

docone31
10-22-2010, 11:32 AM
A lot of factors here.
Tin, and I have some on hand, can really help. I rarely use it, but it is there if I need it.
Again, a lot of factors. Oxidation on the sprue plate, not getting the melt hot enough, lots of factors.
Good luck on the hunt!
Sounds like deer to me.

fecmech
10-22-2010, 11:34 AM
If you were getting wrinkles you weren't hot enough. Casting with straight lead requires fairly hot temps in the high 700 degree range. If you don't want to use the tin, crank up the heat.

Echo
10-22-2010, 12:01 PM