PDA

View Full Version : Pacific Ballard

NickSS
09-23-2006, 12:00 PM
Well a project gun I have been working on for five years is now ready to shoot! It is a Pacific Ballard. The action is an original J. Marlin action from the 1880s and the barrel is the original 38-55 barrel rebored to 45-70. A friend fitted a curley Maple stock to it and I just finished installing sights on the rifle. I plan to shoot it today with some of my standard 45-70 loads consisting of a lyman 457125 400 gr bullet over 65 gr. of GOEX FFG with a .030 vegitable fiber wad under the bullet. This load works real well in a couple of sharps rifles I have so will see what it does in the Ballard.:-D

Woodtroll
09-23-2006, 08:37 PM
Please post pictures if you have them! This sounds like a jewel. Hope it shoots well for you. Regan

floodgate
09-23-2006, 11:09 PM
Nick: