PDA

View Full Version : Cant find lead

comershooter
10-10-2010, 06:40 PM
Hello I am new to casting and reloading me and my dad decided to start as something to do together and finding lead is extremely hard the only lead I can find is 85 cents a pound and the tire shops all give theres to the same guy who has always got it and I am not sure where else to try because 85 cents a pound wont save any money.

lwknight
10-10-2010, 06:56 PM
Welcome to the madness comershooter.
I don't see how 85 cents per pound lead does not save money.
You pay an average of $3.00 per pound for commercially cast bullets and around $4.00 or more per pound for cheap jacketed bullets.

Most of us cast because its fun and gratifying to roll yer own and end up with something better than can be bought.

Most of my lead costs me around $0.75 and by the time I get the tin and antimony figured in I'm up to about $1.30 per pound. Its still cheaper than buying them and I never have to be on a backorder list. I can get exactly the alloy that I want and never have to worry about the supplier drying up.

nes4ever69
10-10-2010, 07:12 PM
ive paid 90 cents a pound for ignots on ebay. when i lived in colorado, no free lead anywere and no tire places willing to sell.

i did score 200# of ignots off craigslist for $80.

you have to keep looking, but beware of some sellers on ebay.

Jailer
10-10-2010, 07:18 PM
Man I'm just getting into this as well but it's posts like these that make me want to stock up on as much as I can get my hands on.

I've got about 140lbs of smelted ingots that I have a total of $10 invested in and that was one days worth of scrounging. Do keep in mind that I stopped and asked at about 10 different places to get that and only one was willing to give them away and one willing to sell at $10/5 gallon bucket.

Guess which place I'm going to buy my new tires from. ;)

imashooter2
10-10-2010, 07:21 PM