PDA

View Full Version : Trying to Get Started

HighRoad
10-07-2010, 04:06 PM
Hi Gents a newbie here.
Wanting to get started in casting. Thought all I had to do was melt some lead into a cast and then you’re done, but after reading a bit here I see it’s quite a bit more!
So here’s what I thought I had to do:

Smelt wheel weights into ingots
Melt ingots in a melter and cast bullets
Lube size Lube

Now I am wondering if I have to do this:

Smelt wheel weights into ingots
Test ingots for hardness (not sure how to do this)
Add tin as required and resmelt ingots (where do you get tin?)
Test hardness again
Melt ingots in a melter and cast bullets
Lube size Lube

If I can, I would really like to keep it simple.

docone31
10-07-2010, 04:10 PM
For average shooting, just melt the wheel weights, keep the heat up, and cast away.
Pan lube, and size.
If some wheel weights look like they are riveted, they are zinc. If they take longer than usual to melt, they are zinc. Strip wheel weights are mostly soft lead. You can tell the steel ones easily.
Keep it simple.
Wrinkles are an indication of too little heat.
Clean the mold in Mineral spirits.

Rangefinder
10-07-2010, 04:29 PM
1. Smelt wheel weights into ingots
2. Melt ingots in a melter and cast bullets
3. Lube size Lube

That really sizes it up for the most part, except you forgot a few steps at the end...

4: Load
5: Shoot
6: Go home and repeat steps 1 through 5 again... :))

fryboy
10-07-2010, 04:31 PM
welcome to the forum amigo !

ummm there's always more to it lol no matter where one thinks they are at , the stickies here have alot of great info in them and the search feature will help in finding ur most current questions