PDA

View Full Version : solder help please

reloader28
09-26-2010, 09:20 PM
Went to Lowes and they had some lead free solder. I wont tell you how much it was, cause I know I got screwed. I needed it, I was there, so I bought it.

I've never used anything but straight WW before, but now with my fall hunting boolits that I plan on using, I think I need tin. I'm using 50/50 alloy, heat treating, then softening the nose. Performance has been pretty satisfactory I think, except I'm losing way more of the nose than I want and want to add tin to keep it together better from what I've learned here.(malible)

The question is...
I bought Lenox lead free, solid wire solder. Thats basically all thats on this box.

Is this basically pure tin??? The Lenox box next to it said something about tin, copper and something else that I forgot, but this box really dont say anything.

Another question. Everyone says that you should add 2% tin. Thats what I'm planning on using unless you guys think 3% is better for a 50/50 pure lead/WW boolit going a little over 2000fps???

Like I said, I always use straight WW so I'm new to tin. I've never used these for big game rifle hunting before. Would like a little help please.

lwknight
09-26-2010, 10:01 PM
I think the 3% idea might be just the ticket in the higher velocities. My (roughly) 40:1
mix with very little antimony (if any ) still hardened up over time. I'm shooting a 44mag @1500 fps with PP. You can stand the boolits harder in the rifle velocities.
I did have 99% weight retension and the boolits turned inside out in a perfect mushroom.
I have not tested them since they have hardened.
I think , maybe a higher tin should harden the boolits some and prevent age hardening.

KYCaster
09-26-2010, 10:13 PM